News Digest

2014 Distinguished University Professors

The title of Distinguished University Professor was recently conferred on four faculty members. Please join us in congratulating:

  • Inderjit Chopra, Aerospace Engineering
  • James Drake, Physics
  • Sylvester James Gates, Physics
  • Jeffrey C. Herf, History

2014-15 Distinguished Scholar Teachers

The Distinguished Scholar Teacher Award honors senior faculty who combine outstanding scholarly accomplishment with excellence in teaching, personifying our image of the professorate. Each awardee will deliver a presentation during the 2014-2015 academic year in the DST Lecture Series. Please join us in congratulating:

  • Jonathan Auerbach, English
  • Jude Cassidy, Psychology
  • Gilad Chen, Smith School of Business
  • Sarah Eno, Physics
  • Reza Ghodssi, Electrical and Computer Engineering / Institute for Systems Research
  • Alan Jay Kaufman, Geology

Senate Proposal on Faculty Titles

The University Senate accepted a proposal from the Faculty Affairs Committee revising the system of titles for faculty appointed off the tenure track. Click here to read the report and proposed changes.